BUGview Slot Restrictions

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Bug Labs Forum Index -> BUGmodules
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
finsprings



Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Posts: 267
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2008 8:00 pm    Post subject: BUGview Slot Restrictions Reply with quote

It seems as if BUGview only works in the top-right or bottom-right slots of the BUGbase. For me, if I put it in the top-left or bottom-left slots it shows only multi-coloured pixels all over the screen. Is this expected? I thought I saw John say something about slots 1 and 3 but I don't know where the numbering starts.

Are there any other slot restrictions?
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
finsprings



Joined: 25 Sep 2007
Posts: 267
Location: Pittsburgh, PA

PostPosted: Tue Apr 29, 2008 8:21 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

I see that top-left is slot 0 from the menu on the bug, 1 is top-right, 2 is bottom-left and 3 is bottom-right. So 1 and 3 matches what I thought I saw John mention.
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Visit poster's website
jconnolly
Site Admin


Joined: 11 Feb 2008
Posts: 128
Location: Bug Labs HQ New York

PostPosted: Wed Apr 30, 2008 8:22 pm    Post subject: Reply with quote

finsprings wrote:
I see that top-left is slot 0 from the menu on the bug, 1 is top-right, 2 is bottom-left and 3 is bottom-right. So 1 and 3 matches what I thought I saw John mention.


You're right, until the next release we've limited the display to render only on frame-buffer 1 (/dev/fb1), which displays on the BUGview module in slots 1 and 3. We ran into some configuration and driver complications with the dual LCDs or dual xservers. We're working on that now and hope to have it sorted out soon.

It is worth mentioning though that normal display on slots 0 and 2 is the random pixelated data that you've described. A white "flashlight" effect is indicative of a problem, usually remedied with a restart.

The only other restriction of module placement is with the BUGcam and BUGview modules. The problem occurs when these two modules are connected on opposing sides of the BUGbase, (slots 1 and 3, or 0 and 2). I believe this stems from from a power control problem in the driver, which we also hope to have solved with the next kernel and rootfilesystem release.
_________________
| John Connolly
| Bug Labs Development Team
|
| Join the bug-dev email list:
| http://lists.buglabs.net
| jconnolly on IRC:
| irc://irc.freenode.net/buglabs
------------------------------------------------------
Back to top
View user's profile Send private message Send e-mail Visit poster's website AIM Address
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    Bug Labs Forum Index -> BUGmodules All times are GMT - 5 Hours
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum

FAQ   |   Search   |   Memberlist   |   Usergroups   |   Register   |   Profile

Email forums administrator

Bannersmonster.Com © 2007
Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2002 phpBB Group
Designed by:linux hostingHotel